There are approximately 100 active users with major groups within materials chemistry, materials physics, bio- and life sciences found at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Universities of Oslo, Bergen, Stavanger and Tromsø, and at Institute for Energy Technology.  The ESRF in general, with the Swiss-Norwegian beamlines (SNBL) in particular, is the most important facility for the Norwegian user community.


There is at present no national user organization established, but much of the activity is implicitly coordinated through a national funding scheme of the Research Council of Norway; the SYNKNOYT-programme:


In addition to general project funding and institutional travel grants, the programme also organizes a bi-annual SR (and neutron-) users meeting. 

Prof. Helge B Larsen
University of Stavanger
in partnership with