High-Field High-Repetition-Rate Terahertz facility @ the Electron Linear accelerator with high Brilliance and Low Emittance

The THz user laboratory was completed and brought into operation for early users in August 2016. The two THz sources (diffraction and undulator) can be operated in parallel and generate carrier-envelope phase (CEP) stable single-cycle, and tuneable multi-cycle, THz pulses that are transported in two separate optical beamlines into the laboratory. A novel pulse-resolved data-acquisition system in combination with a femtosecond arrival-time monitor were developed, enabling time-resolved experiments with sub-THz cycle temporal resolution of better than 12 fs. The high repetition rate allows pulse sorting and signal averaging, providing high sensitivity and dynamic range for both time- and frequency-domain measurements. Several experimental techniques for probing THz field driven dynamics in matter have been implemented and successfully demonstrated in close collaboration with leading international groups, examples being transient Faraday/MOKE (magneto-optic Kerr effect), or THz-emission spectroscopy.

Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf e.V.
Bautzner Landstrasse 400 Dresden
TEL. +49 351 2602684
call for proposals


Calls for proposals are published twice per year in spring an in fall, with granted beamtimes being scheduled in the subsequent term.  

User access to the ELBE - Center for High-power Radiation Sources is managed in line with the recommendations of the European Charter for Access to Research Infrastructures. It is quality-based and relies on a peer-review procedure based on research proposals. The primary selection criterion is scientific excellence. Among scientifically equally ranked proposals priority is given to users from countries without national FEL and from EU-13 states, to PhD students and to women PIs. Calls for proposals are published twice per year, proposals are submitted electronically using the portal GATE.

ELBE as a whole is operated 24 h, 7 days/week, beamtime is granted in units of 12 hours from 6:00 to 18:00 and from 18:00 to 6:00 respectively.